The Liebster Award

Em over at http://ateenagersmemoir.wordpress.com/ has nominated me for a Liebster Award which was a lovely thing to do. You should check her blog out. I was super excited when I saw a notification containing the word “award” so I shall pass on the thrill by participating in accordance to the instructions usefully outlined.

The Liebster Award Rules:  
You must link back the person who nominated you.

You must answer the 10 Liebster questions given to you by the nominee before you.
You must pick 10 bloggers to be nominated for the award with under 200 followers.
You must come up with 10 questions for your nominees to answer.
You must go to their blogs and notify your nominees.

10 Questions I answer:

1) What is your worst habit?

This is an easy and unattractive one to start with: biting my nails when I am agitated.

2) What is the one thing that you will never do again?

Use the following pick up line: “So…what’s your favourite racket sport?”

3) What happened the last time you cried?

I locked myself in the bathroom and rage-sobbed. My Grandad had just died after years of suffering with Parkinsons and dementia. I had My Chemical Romance’s Black Parade on repeat for a week.

4) If you could have one superpower for one day, what would it be and what would you do?

Well it has to be teleportation…but how to use it? My initial thought was to take ‘selfies’ at as many of the world’s great monuments as possible. But then I figured I could probably manage the same on Photoshop. Okay, so instead I would raid banks, McDonalds restaurants and ice-cream vans. Wait for the good deed – before delivering the stolen goods to those poverty-stricken.

 5) What is your most embarrassing moment?

I don’t get embarrassed that easily but I will share one such occasion. I was selling bouquets of artificial roses at a shopping centre (as you do), approaching members of the public with my charming sales routine, but having little luck. It reached the end of the day and we wanted to dump our remaining stock. I decided I would give a bouquet (worth by our outrageous pricing something like £20) away to a passerby. Now you might think I would have chosen one of the many attractive girls my age walking past, but I decided instead to approach a middle-aged woman with kids. I must have looked pretty suspicious in a shirt and tie, with rose petals lining my buttons, because she blanked me. The performance was humiliating – I couldn’t sell our product for free!

6) If you could go back in time, what advice would you give to your younger self?

Take yourself less seriously, Lee! Open up to people and be more sociable. Say yes to that party and yes to the cinema. Also, stop worrying about school – you work hard, it will pay off (eventually).

7) What is the scariest thing that has ever happened to you?

This is tough, but one occasion springs to mind. My little brother went missing. We were at Ascot Race Course for my Grandad’s birthday and he disappeared within the huge crowds. At a guess, I was about 10 and he was 8. My entire family went searching for him. As a child you very rarely see your parents and relatives upset, panicky or helpless. They seem invincible; able to fix any situation. So when this façade drops the comfort of being a child does too. The prospect of not having a brother, even though we ‘hated’ each other, was also very scary. We found him by the way – or rather he wandered back casually, having walked a mile or so on his own to find a toilet!

8) What was happening the last time you were really nervous?

I was awaiting my A-level results – whether or not I had been accepted into University.

9) What would people be surprised to learn about you?

Newer friends or people meeting me probably wouldn’t suspect that I am a black belt in karate (I gave it up years ago mind you). I don’t come across as the ‘physically capable’ or violent type!

10) What is your favourite thing to do?

Big question. As hesitant as I am to take a risk, I do love trying new things and meeting new people. These last two years in Sixth Form have been amazing for presenting new opportunities (I acquired a Russian pen-pal after giving a stranger a hug on a school trip to Moscow and St Petersburg!), and I know University will only offer up a world more to exploit.

Here are my questions:

  1. Why did you start a blog?
  2. What is something that amazes you?
  3. What would you like to change about yourself?
  4. What is your biggest fear and why?
  5. What do you consider your best quality?
  6. Where do you see yourself in 5 years’ time?
  7. What is your favourite book and why?
  8. Which three places would you most like to visit?
  9. What is your biggest regret?
  10. What is your fondest memory?

Here are my nominations:

A couple of these bloggers I have been following since I started about 3 weeks ago; others I have only just stumbled across; and a few have only just started themselves so need your support!

  1. http://amarkedimprovement.wordpress.com/
  2. http://practicallyperfection.wordpress.com/
  3. http://speculationcorner.wordpress.com/
  4. http://whoneedsmalltalk.wordpress.com/
  5. http://morningfibre.wordpress.com/
  6. http://keepwatchingthewords.wordpress.com/
  7. http://thompsonstoptips.wordpress.com/
  8. http://raininglilies.wordpress.com/
  9. http://theroamingreader.wordpress.com/
  10. http://rachellemariela.wordpress.com/
3 comments

  1. 😛 Oooo rejection! Your embarrassing story made me laugh 😛
    Something similar happened to my sister when she was 6 and I was 7. We were in spain and she’d wandered off the beach and walked an hour down the road :/ Mum and dad went crazy :/
    I like your answers 🙂

Share your thoughts

